“ A leader is one who knows the way, goes the way, and shows the way.”

With the vision of paving the way for our young leaders and inculcating strong leadership qualities, the Investiture Ceremony was held on 12 May 2023, at The Indian School-Second Shift. The occasion was attended by the proud parents of the elected student council members and representatives of the PTA body.

The function commenced with the address of Principal, Ms Tania Joshi who threw light on the significant responsibilities entrusted upon the students council and congratulated the elected members. The melodious renditio of the Saraswati Vandana, filled the atmosphere with positivity. 

Headmistress, Ms Sheeja Menon conveyed her good wishes to the newly elected members as well as made them aware of their responsibilities towards their School and their fellow schoolmates. Soon after, the beat of drums announced the entry of the council-elect whose members smartly marched towards the podium.

Finally, the much-awaited moment arrived and the entire hall was lit by the radiant faces of the newly-appointed council. The students were honoured by our headmistress along with Ms Neena Maini,  member of the School Managing Committee. Ms Maini exhibited pride and admiration as she pinned the badges and sashes on Head Boy, Samarth Srivastava; Head Girl, Zuha Haris; Sports Captain, Vishaka Majumdar; Sports Vice Captain, Moayin Wani Ali, followed by the bestowing of honours by Ms Menon on Citizenship Captain, Arohi Sen; Co-curricular Captain, Harshita Khurana; Life Skills and Wellness Captain, Alvira Imam; Editorial Captain, Mohd. Ifran Khan and Discipline Captain, Samreen K. Saluja.

Ms Sandita Paul beamed with delight as she did the honours for Sabenoor Simran – House Captain of Jupiter, Anjali Kumari – House Prefect of Jupiter, Harsh Gome – House Captain of Saturn and Katyayani Mishra – House Prefect of Saturn. Mr Karmendra presented the badges and sashes to Siddhi Solanki – House Captain of Mars, Satwik Srivastava – House Prefect of Mars, and Riddhi Solanki – House Captain of Venus and Samaira Saini – House Prefect of Venus.

The ceremony proceeded with the oath-taking of the council, led by Head boy, pledging to serve their alma mater with utmost sincerity and to the best of their abilities. The investiture concluded with the entrusting of the school flag and the sports and house flags to the respective captains by Mr Avijit Singh, symbolising the handing over of responsibilities to these young leaders. 

Ms Paul offered the vote of thanks and extended her gratitude, on behalf of the staff and students of The Indian School Second Shift, to everyone present. The day's proceedings concluded with the students singing the School song, followed by refreshments for the parents.